Why Now???

Here’s the latest picture, it was taken today. Not much of a change since the last 1 1/2 weeks.

I received a call for a job interview yesterday for a really good position that I would really like to have. The pay is better, the hours are much better, but with it comes more responsibility.

Of course when is the start date? A week before my due date. So there ya go, of all times for me to get an opportunity like this to finally get an interview for a job like this, it has to start then. I would have to go right to work after I had the baby. I feel so upset at the thoughts of even doing that. My hubby and everyone around me thinks I am nuts, because it’s the opportunity of a lifetime but I feel so torn that I won’t have the time to spend with the baby. Jeez it’d be like one day pop out the kid and bam right after I get out the hospital I have to work. I know people do it, but I do have the opportunity to stay home with my children for a year with paid leave and still return to a good paying job in the end. At least with my other children I never had to do that before. I had the time to stay home with them, even for a month. Anyway, I am considering declining the interview, because my luck I’d actually get the job, then I’d have to decline it. Just wish it weren’t now!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chas
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 00:13:00

    I’d hate to be in your position. I could tell you what I think I’d do, but there’s no way to know what you’d do until you’re in that position, so I won’t comment. Good luck figuring it all out.

    Reply

  2. Claudia
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 04:18:00

    Wow! I wish I could stay with my baby for a year!
    Good luck with whatever path you choose!

    Reply

  3. Devynn
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 09:24:00

    Good luck with this decision! I don’t have the option of staying home after the baby is born because I am self-employed and I don’t get benefits šŸ˜¦ So, obviously, I would choose to stay at home, but that’s because I know I can’t. Whatever you decide will be okay.

    Reply

  4. Dazed
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 13:33:00

    Ooooooooh that sucks. I think Id do the same thing and not take the interview, but who knows!
    Cute belly shot mama!

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 16:53:00

    Oooh, that’s a tough decision. You’ll pick the right one. And that’s a cute pic–you don’t look like you’re so close to delivery!

    Reply

  6. Hoping
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 19:01:00

    Wow what timing! You will do what is right for your family. A whole year of paid maternity leave? Can’t beat that either. Tell me something, what is the minimum paid family leave for Canada? I realize it probably is different with each province but I am not sure which province you live in? Just curious. I have 6 weeks. which is not nearly long enough!
    Nice belly pic by the way…..you look really good!

    Reply

  7. nailgirl
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 22:17:00

    HEY SARA IT’S DENISE. IF YOU WANT MY OPINION I WOULD DECLINE THE INTERVIEW. THIS IS YOUR LAST BABY AND YOU MAY REGRET IT IF YOU DONT. BESIDES YOU CAN ALWAYS APPLY FOR IT AGAIN LATER.

    Reply

  8. nailgirl
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 23:45:00

    SARA, HOW DO I PUT THE SEE HOW I GROW BORDER ON MY BLOG??? ALSO HOW CAN I PUT THE WHAT I READ BLOGS UP?? SORRY IF I AM A DORK DENISE

    Reply

  9. Emmakirst
    Mar 08, 2006 @ 23:56:00

    Hoping to stay pregnant, I live in Nova Scotia, and it goes according to what you make for the EI, I have the maximum right now and then i get a top up from work, for 4 months. So for me I am getting roughly 2200 month clear, then it’ll decrease each biweekly pay until i hit 1544 month. that’s what i’d get until next april if i wanted to.

    Reply

  10. Hannah
    Mar 09, 2006 @ 02:11:00

    Sounds like you are making the right decision for you. You might not enjoy the job as much knowing that you could be home with your baby. I haven’t been offered anything really special, but I just finished some coursework that would make my current job better, but it’ll have to wait. Isn’t timing crazy?

    You look great by the way! Cute tummy. šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

