Well, if it rains it pours in my life.

Ava is doing better, got a little cough, flu season and all. Her skin is peeling more and she’s complaining about soreness from time to time, overall though she’s her usual self in behaviour.

Now Nolan, I’ll tell you his update. Yah, Sunday he started with a cough, sounding a little shitty nothing different from his run of the mill cold he gets from the older children. Monday, a little worse, fever now controlled with tylenol. Tuesday, getting shittier sounding, woke up through the night, short of breath, coughing like a 40yr smoker and getting greyish on us. Wednesday, (i’m in class all day so hubby is home) nolan is sleeping all the time, wakes from his nap and is very lethargic, respirations increased with grunting noted. Greeeatttt, hubby takes him to the Dr. she says she doesn’t like the sound of his chest and started him in vento.lin and flo.vent right away, giving the old, if he gets worse speech bring him to ER. Well as if i didn’t have enough stress in my life the last few weeks he’s getting crappier. So at around 2am I took him to the ER. The Dr. there listened and said he was on the borderline of admitting him. So he referred him to see a pediatrician and that’s when he decided to admit the baby. He was put on 1L of oxygen and his O2 sats were 98%. Much better, even pinky in color again. He had some blood work in emergency and had a chest xray and up to the ped ward we went. We were admitted to the exact same room Ava was in before she was transferred to iwk. Creepy. Anyway, he got aerosols around the clock and was started on an antibiotic in which i gasped and asked if it was absolutely necessary, after our previous experience with it and i was reassured. We’re home on a pass, he sounds much better and the test for RSV came back negative so i think it’s the flu, so right now we are all just trying to get healthy. If that’s possible for us.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rainbowfudge
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 09:56:40

    Time to move to a sunnier climate!! (not that it helps in our case I might add – as if Africa wasn’t warm enough for us…).

    Sorry to hear that N isn’t doing well – at least he’s on the mend though! Thank god for paediatricians, I am seriously in love with ours – he is *so* great and always available when I need him. The one time I called his mobile phone, asked him something regarding dosage (heard some baby crying in the background), he answered me patiently as he always does, and then I said, “you sound like you have your hands full there”, and he says, “Yes, I’m just in the middle of an emergency c-section, but it’s okay”, and I’m like, “Get off the phone – geez – dont take my calls if you’re in the middle of an emergency!” and he says, “I know you always have legitimate questions, which is why I answered.” How cool is that!?

    Reply

  2. sugarandice
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 10:28:20

    Poor kids! I’m so sorry little Nolan is sick too. At least he’s on the mend now.

    Reply

  3. merr
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 15:21:25

    Holy cow, I’m really sorry. You guys have been through so much lately. Hopefully the warmer weather brings healthier kids.

    Reply

  4. Emma
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 16:41:29

    You really have some bad luck! Hope everyone is well soon, and stay that way!

    Reply

  5. Sara
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 21:32:51

    Oh. My. Gosh!! I am just getting caught up and have been proceeding to freak out for the past few minutes reading about all your recent events. I hope your children are feeling better soon . . . and I am hoping for some much needed rest and healthy family members all around for you, dear.

    Reply

  6. Carolyn
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 21:53:44

    Wow that stinks! I’m glad to hear that things are better though. I think we should just dip your kids in some alcohol or something and then poor a glass for Mom 😉

    Reply

  7. denise
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 22:50:22

    Aww poor little nolan! Poor little ava! hugs.

    Reply

  8. hoaloha
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 15:25:39

    Oh my gosh, poor kids and poor YOU! Glad Ava is on her way to recovery, but I can’t imagine juggling all those illnesses.

    Reply

  9. Lesley
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 03:00:05

    Poor Bubbies, I do hope you get a break from all of this sickness soon. So glad to hear that Ava and Nolan are on the mend. So scary, having to go through all of that stuff.
    Take care and try and get some rest in there somewhere.
    Hugs, Lesley

    Reply

  10. Michigan mom
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 08:37:03

    I’ll be praying that everyone gets well and stays that way! It’s so tough when they get sick and I’m sure that it’s so difficult to keep the other kids well when one get’s sick. Hopefully it soon will pass as the weather gets warmer and we head into summer. You have a lot on your plate right now, hang in there and just take it one day at a time!

    Reply

  11. whimsicalchaos
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 21:30:38

    Oh hunny… I am so sorry… I hope everyone gets better soon!! I wish I lived closer so I could help ya…

    Reply

  12. my4kids
    May 03, 2008 @ 05:48:11

    That would be kind of creepy to be in the same room and I can totally understand your concern with the antibiotics after what happened with Ava.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

