So Tired!~

As my title of the post says…I’m exhausted!
I started this journal back when i was preggo with my 4th, I also journaled about my crohn’s disease and how often i had flare ups and my treatments and whatnot.

Well about 6 weeks ago, i relapsed into another wonderful flare up of my guts. I was on prednisone 50mg, and then tapered. Of course this time in 5 weeks it didn’t get any better. Now my hgb is in the low 90’s, I’m insanely tired. I”m off work on sick leave for a couple of weeks. I am seeing a new GI guy at work. He works internal med, so we have him admit cardiac pts. He’s so nice, so he’s easy to talk to that ‘s for sure.
Basically, he’s diagnosed me with crohn’s/colitis. Yep, leave it to me to have both…and said that i’m steroid dependant which isn’t helping for the moment. So he gave me 3 options. Imuran, methotrexate or go to remicade or humira. The side effects from all are bad, but of course not treating properly is bad too. (in bad i mean cancer causing, rare form of lymphoma) So feeling as ill as i am, walking around like talking dead, i’ve opted for remicade. I haven’t started it yet, just waiting to have my CT and CXR done. I’m scared of course, but the imuran would take another 3 months before i may feel better. I can’t go on like this much longer. Anyway, sorry about the whiney post, just for my records and whatever.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ness @ Drovers Run
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 06:24:30

    Sorry to hear you’re not well. A friend of mine has Crohns too, so I understand a little bit about it. When I was in hospital after having my second child I had a weird complication after the surgery (not related to the c-section, but rather the pregnancy) where a piece of my intestine decided to twist itself up. It was THE MOST PAINFUL THING I’VE EVER EXPERIENCED. The only thing that brought mild relief was a shot of pethidine! Thankfully it sorted itself out (unkinked it’s twistedness) and I had some IV antibiotics to take care of it, the reason I’m mentioning this, is when I told my friend (the one with Crohns) about it – she was like, – WELL NOW YOU KNOW WHAT I GO THROUGH ALL THE TIME.

    So! Basically I’m totally qualified to give you sympathy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

